Transparent Bitmap Button

I am pretty new to wxpython and trying to create a basic UI.

I want to create a bitmap button with a transparent background. I have read numerous posts on this topic but have not been able to figure out how to make the solutions work for my situation.

My sample code below is for a simplistic layout to illustrate. I have 2 child panels on a parent panel. The topmost panel is supposed to be cyan with a transparent “X” button on it. I have tried to implement the approach of binding EVT_ERASE_BACKGROUND to a null event handler, and this does cause the button to be transparent, but now my panel is not drawn correctly.

import wx

class Panel1(wx.Panel):
    def __init__(self, parentPanel, *args, **kwargs):
        super().__init__(parentPanel, *args, **kwargs)       
        self.SetBackgroundColour("#009DD6")

btn = wx.BitmapButton(self, -1, wx.Bitmap('img\\close.png'), (120,120), style=wx.NO_BORDER)
        hbox = wx.BoxSizer(wx.HORIZONTAL)
        hbox.Add((0,-1), proportion=1)
        hbox.Add(btn)
        self.SetSizer(hbox)

self.Bind(wx.EVT_ERASE_BACKGROUND, self.OnPaint)      

def OnPaint(self, evt):
        pass        

class Panel2(wx.Panel):
    def __init__(self, parent, *args, **kwargs):
        super().__init__(parent, *args, **kwargs)
        self.SetBackgroundColour(wx.GREEN)

class MainFrame(wx.Frame):

def __init__(self, *args, **kw):
        super().__init__(None, title="test", size=(600,400), *args, **kw)

# Create main panels & titlebar
        rootPanel = wx.Panel(self)
        panel1 = Panel1(rootPanel, size=(-1,50))
        panel2 = Panel2(rootPanel)

# Add main panels to sizer
        sizer = wx.BoxSizer(wx.VERTICAL)
        sizer.Add(panel1, 0, wx.EXPAND)
        sizer.Add(panel2, 1, wx.EXPAND)
        rootPanel.SetSizer(sizer)        

self.Centre()
        self.Show()

def main():

app = wx.App()
    mainFrame = MainFrame()
    app.MainLoop()

if __name__ == '__main__':
    main()