PyCharm cannot load wxversion

Hi all!

I am new to Python and wx, and want to run a GUI for a science software package. It requires matplotlib, and that apparently requires wxversion.

Could someone please help with the following issue:

wxversion is working fine if I open Python from the terminal:

Thomass-MacBook-Pro-2:GUI$ python
*Python 2.7.18 (default, Sep 6 2020, 14:59:50) *
[GCC 4.2.1 Compatible Apple LLVM 10.0.1 (clang-1001.0.46.4)] on darwin
Type “help”, “copyright”, “credits” or “license” for more information.
>>> import wxversion
>>>

However, using PyCharm directly (Python console), it does not find it.

/usr/bin/python2.7 “/Applications/PyCharm CE.app/Contents/plugins/python-ce/helpers/pydev/pydevconsole.py” --mode=client --port=58444
import sys; print(‘Python %s on %s’ % (sys.version, sys.platform))
sys.path.extend([’/Users/… /libRadtran-2.0.3/GUI’])
PyDev console: starting.
*Python 2.7.16 (default, Jan 27 2020, 04:46:15) *
[GCC 4.2.1 Compatible Apple LLVM 10.0.1 (clang-1001.0.37.14)] on darwin
import wxversion
Traceback (most recent call last):

• File “”, line 1, in *
  • File “/Applications/PyCharm CE.app/Contents/plugins/python-ce/helpers/pydev/_pydev_bundle/pydev_import_hook.py”, line 21, in do_import*
  • module = self._system_import(name, *args, *kwargs)
    ImportError: No module named wxversion

thanks

The wxversion module no longer exists, starting in wxPython 4.0. See the note in the Migration Guide about it.

In your case, it looks like you are using two different Python instances in your examples above (2.7.18 and 2.7.16) so it is likely that each has their own copy of wxPython, one that is >=4.0 and one that is not. You can print sys.prefix in each case to see where they are located.