Including wxWidgets headers in windows and macOS builds

I have been using wxPython for ~8 years on a project that we’ve only supported on Linux but now want to also support macOS.

We started out with our own build of wxPython (and all of it’s deps) but switched to using conda in 2015 and have successfully been using the conda-forge or defaults build of wxPython since then.

Our project includes Cython code that needs to have the wxWidgets headers and link against the wxWidgets libraries and we also utilize the wx-config helper program to get the correct flags and paths for our builds. All of that has been fine on Linux because the headers and wx-config are included in the pip install (which conda-forge uses).

On macOS, it looks like the wxWidgets dynlibs get put next to the python modules in site-packages (to aid in locatability) and the wxWidgets headers and wx-config aren’t included.

I’d like to tweak the conda-forge recipe so that it installs the wxWidgets headers and wx-config and also locates the dynlibs at the root of $PREFIX/lib where any respectable c++ build will look for them.

I’m planning to dive into your build.py and figure this out. However, if you have any tips or suggestions, I’d really appreciate them.

Thanks!

BTW, the conda-forge recipe issue related to this is at https://github.com/conda-forge/wxpython-feedstock/issues/28. Feel free to reply here in your Discourse. I’m just cross-referencing. :slight_smile:

The wxWidgets source tree is located in the wxPython source at ./ext/wxWidgets. After the wxPython build on OSX you can find the results of running the wxWidgets configure script (as well as the compiled object files and libs) is located in ./build/wxbld. The stuff you’ll want to grab from there includes the wx-config script, some supporting scripts and the configure-built setup.h file. Look at ./build/wxbld/lib.