Embedding MS Word in a wxPython application

Hello wxPython MSW users,

Goal

My ultimate goal is to embed a MS Word editor in a wxPython application (I want Word to appear as one of the controls inside my wx.Frame).

Background

Searching on the web it seems that this is indeed possible using something called Active X and/or COM components. (Pardon my naivete here, and in the rest of this long post: I typically do all my work on Linux and I have very little experience with MSW. So while am fairly experienced with wxWidgets and wxPython I know virtually nothing of MSW API’s, or the portions of wxPython that integrate with MSW API’s)

What I have learned and tried:

1. Launch Word in its own window from Python (this works)

As a first step, I am able to open a MS Word window on its own and send commands via API. For example using:

from time import sleep
import win32com.client as win32
RANGE = range(3, 8)
def word():
    word = win32.gencache.EnsureDispatch('Word.Application')
    doc = word.Documents.Add()
    word.Visible = True
    sleep(1)
    rng = doc.Range(0,0)
    rng.InsertAfter('Hacking Word with Python\r\n\r\n')
    sleep(1)
    for i in RANGE:
        rng.InsertAfter('Line %d\r\n' % i)
        sleep(1)
    rng.InsertAfter("\r\nPython rules!\r\n")
    doc.Close(False)
    word.Application.Quit()
if __name__ == '__main__':
    word()

(I did not write this: I found it on the web).

The program is self evident to me minus the magic win32.gencache.EnsureDispatch('Word.Application') which I assume calls some Windows API to launch the word executable and get a handle to it to which we can make API calls. By the way, where can I find the documentation to that API?, or at least, what is it called? (If I knew the right terminology I could probably find the documentation).

2. Launch iewin example (mostly works minus a recurring MessageTranslation exception)