Build system for wxpython project(s)

Hello,

I’m about to start working on open-source desktop app using wxPython. I need to include and bind 3rd party C library and build Python extension using cffi/cython, possibly use Nuitka python compiler, would like to to provide manual in html/epub/pdf formats created from (most probably) rst markup and desire to provide binary packages for Win/Mac as well as rpm (I’m on Fedora) & deb packages.

Now I wonder what would be about appropriate build system for such a project? I am thinking about CMake & SCons…

What do you think?

Sincerely,
Gour

There is also waf (https://waf.io/).

I know about it, but when I was reading about it, somehow, I did not like it.

I’m biased here, but I think PyInstaller is the way to go. I’m biased because I’m a core developer :slight_smile: in case you’re wondering. And wxPython itself works seamlessly with PyInstaller at the moment.

You’re original post is unclear. Could you clarify it? - I see 2 different meanings. PyInstaller will work with both. And RE waf: we use it to build the bootloaders for PyInstaller. I’m not a fan of some parts, but it works - well and easily.

Good to know about PyInstaller’s compatibility with wxpython. :slight_smile:

I’ve noticed that packaging world in Python is changing with PEP517 and PEP518…I want to do wxpython project which should possibly provide binary installer for Windows and binary package for Mac OS. I’d also like to generate *.deb package as well as RPM *.spec to cover majority of distros. (not considering container images atm.)

Furthermore, I’ll most certainly make use of Cython package to provide bindings for 3rd party C library (dealing with low-level computations) which I want to include along with the sources of my application. I’ll also use Cython to generate Python C extension for the critical parts of my application which would need some speed up.