Getting a grid with the options I need

I am new to wxPython, and pretty new to Python – have done a lot of Java and other programming.

I want to create a display for a small touch screen in a grid where columns may be different sizes. I will display some text and some numbers. I would like to be able to:

set alignment attributes on columns and/or cells
set background color on cells
have borders on cells
detect clicking on cells

I’ve seen an example program that use wx.grid.Grid; it appears looking like a spreadsheet, with row and column headers. I don’t want that, though it’s pretty. If it has enough flexibility to remove things, it might work for what I want. I haven’t found API documentation on it yet.

I’ve seen examples using a GridBagSizer; I can get that to work, but haven’t found any way to put borders on the cells. I suppose I might put some kind of label(s) in the cells and create a border for the label(s).

So I would like someone to explain an overall approach that is worth going into. I don’t have the background to know whether I’m even in the right ballpark for choosing widgets to use.

I suppose one other thing I should mention that I prefer is an API for the widgets I’m using. I like to have a reference that explains what the widget does instead of ONLY one or more examples. Examples are great, but they aren’t explanations, and lead to more trial-and-error. Half of the google results I get are references to something called “Phoenix” which seems to have dropped out of existence.

Surely someone else has needed a grid with borders from wPython.

There’s a lot of questions there, but I’ll try to unpack it all… :smiley:

• In wx.grid.Grid you can use SetColLabelSize and SetRowLabelSize to set the label widget sizes to zero, effectively removing them.

• The Grid docs are at https://docs.wxpython.org/wx.grid.Grid.html