EVT_LEFT_UP event occurring twice?

Hi, I’m new to wxPython and am seeing a few weird things in my small sample program. I am trying to create a clickable label class. macOS Catalina and latest wxPython (python3.8).

1. When I click to the left of the label (between the label and the window frame - cursor is double-headed arrow), it seems to be sending two click events (counter increases twice).
  2. When I double click in this same spot (when cursor shows the double-headed arrow cursor), the window expands in width (all the way to the left hand side of the screen. Is this expected/documented behaviour?
  3. If I resize the window and then click anywhere inside the frame it “counts” as a click on the label. This seems weird to me as I would expect only a direct click on the label would count as a label click event.

Thanks in advance.

import wx
class ClickableLabel(wx.StaticText):
	def __init__(self, parent, **kwargs):
		super().__init__(parent, **kwargs)
		self.Bind(wx.EVT_LEFT_UP, self.clicked)
		self.click_cnt = 0
	def clicked(self, event):
		self.click_cnt += 1
		self.SetLabel(str(self.click_cnt))

class MyFrame(wx.Frame):
	def __init__(self):
		super().__init__(None, title='Test ClickLabel')
		label = ClickableLabel(self, label='Click Me')
		self.Show()

if __name__ == '__main__':
	app = wx.App(redirect=False)
	frame = MyFrame()
	app.MainLoop()

examplewx

I find it useful in situations like this to change the background color of the widget so it’s easy to see what its bounds are. There are some (probably) surprising behaviors that will become obvious if you do that.

For example, since the frame has only one child then it will automatically resize it to fill the frame:

Snap001

Then, after the clicked method calls SetLabel the wx.StaticText will, by default, resize the widget to fit the new text (if desired you can change this by using the wx.ST_NO_AUTORESIZE style when creating the static text):

Snap002